DC Region Clean Energy Leaders Honored

The Greater Washington Region Clean Cities Coalition (GWRCCC) honored nine DC area clean energy leaders for their outstanding service, leadership, and commitment to a clean energy future.

“We are pleased to honor these outstanding agencies, organizations and individuals for their commitment to reducing petroleum consumption through the use of alternative fuels, lowering emissions, and protecting our environment,” said Ron Flowers, executive director of the GWRCCC.  “These honorees embody the kind of passion and leadership that truly sets them apart. The DC region is making great strides in the fight for clean energy in large part due to their efforts and vision.”

GWRCCC presented the honors during its 1st Annual Awards Luncheon on October 31, 2013 at the Sheraton Washington North in Beltsville, MD. The following organizations were honored:

Executive Director’s Award: The recipient has demonstrated an outstanding commitment to the advancement of alternative fuels while maintaining a strong commitment to effectively improve the level of diversity in this industry.
Winners: Washington Metro Area Transit Authority, Arlington Transit and Ride On – Montgomery County Government

Initiative of the Year:  The award recognizes an alternative fuels team leader who played a key role in closing a significant and complex alternative fuels challenge during the past year.
Winner: Ecobeco LLC

Sustainability Award (Future Leader): The recipient exemplifies a strong desire to learn more about the alternative fuels industry and gain meaningful alternative fuels related employment opportunities.  This individual also demonstrates outstanding leadership potential in alternative fuels or related industry, and possesses one or more of the following: high performer, sound work ethic, provides value-added contributions in the work environment or superior networking and partnering skills.
Winner: Emil King, the District of Columbia, Department of the Environment.

 Community Outreach Award: The recipient of this award demonstrates outstanding leadership in the advancement of alternative fuels through community outreach by creating opportunities for industry related professionals to educate communities about the benefits of alternative fuels.  This recipient actively pursues community outreach which is spurring investment and rehabilitation, creating jobs and opportunities, and transforming deserving communities.
Winners: Smithsonian Institute, Maintenance Division, Suitland, MD and the District of Columbia Sustainable Utility (DC SEU)

Member of the Year Award:  The recipient demonstrates outstanding service to the GWRCCC organization as an active member by participating in programs, taking an active role in one or more committees, and has graciously accepted responsibility.  The individual or company has shown leadership ability through building consensus, resolving issues and leading the team to success.
Winner: Washington Gas

The Most Visionary Professional (MVP): Awarded to the person who single handedly provides the most dynamic leadership to the mission and vision of the GWRCCC and who also provides the most inspiring leadership.
Winner: James Dankowski, National Business Development Manager, Eaton Corporation and Chairman of the Executive Board, GWRCCC


2013-11-06T15:06:04+00:00 November 5th, 2013|In the News|0 Comments

Leave A Comment